Don’t tell me it’s not personal

I am terrified.

I am terrified to log onto social media.

I am terrified to watch the news.

I am terrified to talk to people outside of social justice circles about today’s reality.

I’m told again and again that I’m Canadian so it doesn’t matter.

That I need to stop taking it personal.

That he can only impact “so much”.

That it won’t be as bad as we think.

I refuse to accept these ideas.

He has issued an order limiting the movement of not only refugees but also permanent residents to the US. And yes, I am safe but what of the reports of students visiting my university for a model UN competition who are now stranded not able to return to their education in the US? Was it not personal? Was the impact only “so much”? Was it not as bad as they thought?

He has intentions to cut funding to the Violence Against Women Act. And yes, I would not need to access the resources paid for by this act but what of the people across the US experiencing the same violence as has been experienced by people I love here? Is it not personal? Is the impact only “so much”? Is it not as bad as they thought?

He has begun dismantling Obamacare. And yes, I have health care coverage in my home country but what of my family in the US if they’re financial security or health status were to change? Is it not personal? Is the impact only “so much”? Is it not as bad as they thought?

He hung a portrait of President Andrew Jackson in his office. And yes, it is just a painting in a office I will never see but is it not terrifying to see him take inspiration from a man that signed legislation leading to the “Trail of Tears”? Is it not personal? Is the impact only “so much”? Is it not as bad as we thought?

And this is only the beginning. So yes I will say it is personal and I am terrified. And I will not grow accustomed to this presidency. I will resist.

Leave a Reply

